PDA

View Full Version : questions on buying a used Unique

streetfire
April 29th, 2007, 04:40 PM
Test drove a 289 today. 351W built out to 396 (450-475hp), 4 speed toploader, Wilwood brakes, Jag IRS, etc.

This is my first time driving a Cobra. Right before I drove this I drove a 600hp 911 Turbo, the Cobra was easily as quick. The seat wasn't bolted down which made for a fun ride up to 100.

The clutch was impossibly firm and the brakes were not power boosted. Both of those things drove me crazy.

What can I do to make the clutch easier (larger slave?) and how difficult is it to retrofit a power booster on the brakes? Also what would be involved in swapping in a T56 6 speed transmission and is the toploader worth much on the used market if I sell it?

Car had 2k miles on it, paint looked great, they're asking $38k, sound reasonable?

Thanks guys!

Chris
Streetfire.net

brfutbrian
April 29th, 2007, 06:33 PM